History of The ISIR

The Irish Society of Interventional Radiology was founded in 1995. The founding members were Professor Michael Lee, Dr. Frank McGrath, Dr. Adrian Brady, Dr. Ian Kelly, Professor Dermot Malone & Dr. Lynn Johnston. The society was founded to promote the speciality of Interventional Radiology in Ireland, promote education and research in Interventional Radiology, develop collaboration between Interventional Radiology Departments in Ireland and to foster communication with Interventional Radiology organisations abroad .

Current President of The ISIR

Dr Tony Geoghegan,
Consultant Interventional Radiologist,
Mater Misericordiae University Hospital,
Eccles St, Dublin 7.

Honorary Secretary of The ISIR

Dr Ian Brennan, Consultant Interventional Radiologist, St James's Hospital, Dublin 8.

Honorary Treasurer of The ISIR

Dr Richard Lindsay, Consultant Interventional Radiologist, Royal Victoria Hospital, Belfast Health and Social Care Trust, Belfast

Past Presidents of The ISIR

Dr Colin Cantwell, Professor Michael Lee, Professor Dermot Malone, Dr. Lynn Johnston, Dr. Niall Mc Eniff, Dr. PK Ellis, Dr. Ian Kelly, Professor William C. Torreggiani, Dr. Anthony Ryan and Dr. Peter Kennedy

Guest Lecturers and Recipients of The ISIR Medal

Dr. Niall Mc Eniff Professor Stephen Keye Professor Anne-Marie Cahill Professor Robert Morgan Professor Tony Watkinson Professor Jim Reekers Professor Nacho Bilbao Professor Jon Moss Professor Peter Gaines Professor Roberto Gandini Professor Peter L. Munk Professor Raman Uberoi Professor Otto van Delden Professor Elias Brountzos Professor Fabrizio Fanelli Professor Marc Sapoval

Current Committee of The ISIR

Honorary Secretary Dr. Tony Geoghegan MB MSc MRCPI MRCOG FFRRCSI EBIR The Mater Misericordiae University Hospital Dublin.

Honorary Treasurer Dr. Siobhan McGrane MB BCh BAO FFRRCSI Consultant Interventional Radiologist, University Hospital Limerick.

The Irish Society of Interventional Radiology – Overseas Distinctions

Consultant Interventional Radiologists have established strong links with Interventional Radiology Societies across Europe, North America, The Middle East and Australasia. Professor Michael Lee, Professor of Interventional Radiology at The Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland and Consultant Interventional Radiologist at Beaumont Hospital, Dublin was President of CIRSE between 2012-2013 CIRSE will be hosting The European Congress on Interventional Oncology in Dublin on the 17th-20th of April 2016. Many Members of The Irish Society of Interventional Radiology have held prestigious positions in centres of excellence overseas prior to returning to Ireland. Irish Consultant Interventional Radiologists continue to be based in prestigious positions at world-renowned institutions throughout the globe. Professor Anne Marie Cahill is Chief of The Division of Paediatric Interventional Radiology at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. Professor Kieran P. J. Murphy Vice Chair and Director of Research and Professor of Neurointerventional Radiology in the Department of Medical Imaging at the University of Toronto. He was most recently awarded the 2015 Society of Interventional Radiology Foundation Leaders in Innovation Award, presented to "interventional radiology pioneers" who have created new devices and therapeutics that have advanced the care of those suffering from complex conditions. Professor Stephen T. Kee is Chief of Interventional Radiology at UCLA Radiology, California